Woke up this morning

The blues, my favourite football team, but this isn’t what this about.  This is about the musical genre. Don’t expect this to turn you in to Blind Willie Wonka or whatever they are all called.   This will however give you an idea about chord progressions and structures of the most commonly played styles of tunes.

You will have to do some work, I can supply answers but essentially you are learning this not me. I already did all my work, now I get to just play this stuff and have fun, and you will too with some practice.

 

I am looking at the 8 /12/16 and 24 bar blues and pretty much keeping them to the primary chord versions.  They do get more complicated but that is for another day when you are more able at this.   For now you need to learn these 4 progressions in as many keys as you can, ideally 12. Then once that is in place we can take it further.

You don’t need to have just woken up this morning or have had you woman leave with the dog, but apparently it helps.

 

 

8 Bar Blues

 

 

 

I V7 IV IV
I V7 I V7

 

 

 

 

12 Bar Blues

 

 

 

I IV I I
IV IV I I
V7 IV I V7

 

 

 

 

 

 

16 Bar Blues

 

I IV I I7
IV IV I I7
IV IV I I
V7 IV I V7

 

 

 

 

 

24 Bar Blues

I I IV IV
I I I I7
IV IV IV IV
I I I I
V7 V7 IV IV
I I V7 V7

 

 

 

 

Right, so your challenge is several fold. Firstly I’m not telling you what chords merely just their scale degree.

So firstly you need to work out at least the I IV V chords of a particular key to know which ones you will need.

Secondly you need to work out which of these you will play as Dom 7 chords.

 

THEN…. you need to actually play them as just chords. Go with ye olde 4/4 to begin with , lets keep things straight forward. We’ll get clever and add shuffle riffs and so forth once you are happy with the structure.

These structures need to be internalised. Get used to feeling 4 bars passing and being able to feel it rather than have to count it. As you can see all the above progressions are divisible by 4 hence why you need to be able to feel it. It will come, it just takes time and a bit of practice, well a lot of practice but that’s what you are supposed to be doing anyway..

 

Come on you Blues

~ by Geoff Lea Guitar on April 24, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
